Guide to Andalucia, the most south-westerly region of Spain.

Spanish Regions - Andalucia

Andalucia Spain - Spain’s southernmost region, Andalucia is bordered by Portugal to the west, Extremadura and Castilla-La Mancha to the north and Murcia to the east. Andalucia is one of Spain’s largest regions and comprises 8 provinces, with great contrasts in landscape from the snowcapped mountains of the Sierra Nevada to the golden Mediterranean beaches of the Costa del Sol.

Andalucia covers an area of 87,267 km2 and has a resident population of around 7 million, and welcoming additional millions of visitors especially during the hot summer months.

Andalucia is home to many of Spain’s familiar traditions such as bullfighting, flamenco dancing and pueblos blancos (white villages), it also boasts some of Europe’s finest cities like Seville, Cordoba and Granada, while its coastal port Cadiz is said to be the oldest permanently inhabited city in Europe, and its people are as complex as its history which was moulded by Phoenicians, Carthaginians, Romans, Visigoths and Moors, perhaps the Moors having the greatest influence, with Andalucia being their first, last and most important base on the Iberian Peninsular.

Andalucia’s eight provinces are Huelva, Cadiz, Seville and Malaga in the west, Cordoba and Jaen in the north and Granada and Almeria in the east.

Andalucia has over 800 kilometres of coastline, most of which comprises sandy beaches, it has a Mediterranean coastline, with the areas of Costa Almeria, Costa Tropical and Costa del Sol, and an Atlantic coastline called the Costa de la Luz (Coast of Light), which lies to the west of Gibraltar.

Andalucia Links: Andalucia Map - Andalucia Weather

Andalucia Golf: Marbella Golf - Torrequebrada Golf - Spain Golf

Andalucia Cities: Seville - Granada - Cordoba - Jaen - Malaga - Huelva - Cadiz - Antequera

Related: Galicia - Catalonia - Barcelona - Madrid - Alicante - Builders